Spotlight: HellYeah

Get ready for the return of American’s heavy metal supergroup, HELLYEAH!!! With a new album slated for a 2010 release, Chad Gray (Mudvayne), Greg Tribbett (Mudvayne), Tom Maxwell (Nothingface), Bob Zilla (Damageplan), and Vinnie Paul (former Pantera, Rebel Meets Rebel and Damageplan) are gearing up to hit the road for some killer festivals, a few shows with Papa Roach and then out on tour with Seether, Five Finger Death Punch, Drowning Pool and Lacuna Coil.

HELLYEAH originally started out as a side project that soon turned into something much larger than the musicians had imagined. Chad Gray and Tom Maxwell originated the idea to form the supergroup when their bands were on the Tattoo the Earth tour back in 2001. Due to scheduling conflicts, the plan was continuously on hold.

But in the summer of 2006, timing was finally right as the rest of the band members seemed to fall into place. The band record its first album at Chasin’ Jason studio in Dimebag Darrell Abbott’s backyard. The self-titled album was completed in roughly one month and released on April 10, 2007.The album entered the Billboard 200 at number 8, selling 45,000 copies. It was something that was formed by a bunch of friends for fun that soon shaped into something much more.

The band went out on tour that summer, playing on the main stage of the Family Values Tour 2007. That fall, they continued to tour with Korn, Five Finger Death Punch and Droid. Due to the demand, the band continued to tour, headlining their own club tour in winter of 2007 and into the new year (2008).

It was a great run but scheduling led the HellYeah project to a hault as the members returned to their original bands. Mudvayne released their next 2 albums and toured. Nothingface returned to work on their next album. Tom Maxwell also joined forces with members of  Dog Fashion Disco, Nothingface and Polkadot Cadaver to form Knives Out! and recorded an album. Meanwhile, when timing allowed, the members continued to work on the next HellYeah album. Going back into the studio this past summer (2009), HellYeah is getting ready to follow up their successful debut album with a summer 2010 release date. Be sure to keep an eye out as they will soon hit the road.

Here are the following HELLYEAH Tour Dates:

– 4/24 Tampa, FL
– 4/25 Charleston, SC (w/Papa Roach, Puddle of Mudd, Sevendust and more)
– 4/27 Brooklyn NY (Headlining)
– 4/30 Jacksonville, NC (Headlining)
– 5/1 Orlando, FL (WJRR Earth Day w/ Korn, Papa Roach, Chevelle, FFDP)
– 5/3 Corpus Christi, TX (w/ Papa Roach)
– 5/4 Houston, TX (w/ Papa Roach)
– 5/5 Dallas, TX (w/ Papa Roach)
– 5/7 Oklahoma City, OK (Kattfest w/ Three Days Grace, Seether, Papa Roach and more)
– 5/8 Little Rock, AR (KDJE EDGEFEST w/ Godsmack, Rob Zombie, Papa Roach and more)
– 5/11 Madison, WI (w/Seether)
– 5/12 Mankato, MN (w/Seether)
– 5/16 Indianola, IA (Lazerfest w/Alice Cooper, Three Days Grace, Godsmack, Seether and more)
– 5/18 La Crosse, WI (w/Seether)
– 5/19 Peoria, IL (w/Seether)
– 5/21 Detroit, MI (w/Seether)
– 5/22 Milwaukee WI (w/Seether)

Performing at the following European Festivals:

6/11-13 Download festival – Donington Park, United Kingdom (AC/DC, Them Crooked Vultures, Rage Against The Machine, Deftones, Megadeth and more)
6/25-27 Graspop Metal Meeting – Dessel, Belgium (Aerosmith, Kiss, Slayer, Motorhead, STP, KSE and more)


Past MPJ Coverage of HELLYEAH:





For more information:




Meanwhile as you wait for HellYeah to hit your town, enjoy our footage of Greg and Chad from last summer when they were out on tour with Mudvayne:




Their latest self titled album came out in Dec 2009. Their latest video, “Strange and Beautiful” has raised controversy and has even been banned by several station. Here is the video:

Look for more info on MUDVAYNE :


Knives Out!

From Baltimore MD, Knives Out! features members of HellYeah, Dog Fashion Disco, Nothingface and Polkadot Cadaver look to release their debut album late 2010. To give anticipating fans a taste, in January 2010, they released a 4 song digital EP entitled “Rough Cuts” as a taste of whats to come.

More information:





You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

8 Responses to “Spotlight: HellYeah”

  1. […] Related News: – Chad and Greg are currently out on tour with HellYeah in support of their latest album, “Stampede”. – Matt is busy working at Atmoworks […]

  2. Just write like you’re talking to your friends. And soon, they will be 🙂

  3. cpalead says:

    I’ve been searching this for a long time, thanks for sharing.

  4. I like this site and saw it on Yahoo search. I thought your thoughts on Spotlight: HellYeah | Musician Photo Journal are right on. Thanks for writing about this and looking forward to reading more on your site.

  5. I could very well tend to recommend Spotlight: HellYeah | Musician Photo Journal to men and women which I recognize. Great Project. -Rosena Sherwood – Fashions Junkie

  6. Amy says:

    Can’t wait to hear the new HellYeah!!! GREAT PHOTOS!!!!

  7. Hi there, I just finished reading some of your posts and found you to be quite informative. Thanks.

Leave a Reply